Lexie is Looking for a Forever Home

Um, hello there. My name is Lexie. I’m a Treeing Walker Coonhound and I am looking for a forever home.  

I’m a super sweet girl but I’m a little bit shy. I need a little coaxing to come out of my shell.

What’s that you say?

You have dogs?

And toys?

Well, why didn’t tell me sooner? I’m not shy around other dogs. In fact, I have a foster-brother and we’re BFF’s. And he’s been teaching me all kinds of things like playing tug-of war with a rope and I adore Kongs (and, come on, what fun-loving dog doesn’t)? And I am completely happy with just an ole tennis ball.

I bet you wondering what the heck a Treeing Walker Coonhound is. Well, I come from the English and American Foxhounds. The story goes that my breed originated in the United States when someone stole  a dog with an unknown origin and became known as the “Tennessee Lead” and it was crossed into the Walker Hound. My breed is typically known as sporting or hunting, but I can be a little timid around new sights and sounds. I am however working on lease walking and if you have the patience to train me, I’ll let you in on a little secret…I’m completely motivated by food.

I have a beautiful coat of black, white and brown and all you really have to do is give me a bath and a brushing from time to time. I’m what you call low maintence in that area.

I’m a little over a year old and about 52 pounds. I probably won’t grow more in my height, but I should end up being about 60 pounds.  

I am house-broken, crate trained, great with kids and did I mention that I don’t at all mind sharing my toys? In fact, if you already have a dog and you’re looking for another, I would love to join your family.  

If you’d like to see me in person, you can schedule a meet and greet with one of the volunteers for Coming Home Rescue. They can be reached at 1-888-405-7221 or send them an email info@cominghomerescue.org.

Leave a comment

Filed under Adoptable Dog, Life, Pets

Leave a Reply

